British business on Hindu- stan 1773 – 1902.

The British had taken controls for major parts of present Indian territories in the garb of doing business on the Title of ‘East India Company ‘ programmed for larger intended interests for Indian land. Their charity missions encouraged adoption of CHRISTIANITY from exiting religion practiced by them being Hindus. The locals in many areas of resistance had already felt the heat of invading Muslim & loss for major population getting converted earlier to Muslim faith & than on modernization to new faiths like Sikhism & latest in Christianity, hence displayed concern. The like minded intellectual Brahmins who controlled priesthood & conducted religious affairs got together stemming further adoption of other ways of life by locals ,hence first NGO formed by Bengali intellectuals to counter & reform Hindu religious practices was named as Brahamo Samaj but launched from Lahore in PUNJAB in post Maharaja Ranjit Singh time during the beginning period of British over Lahore.
It is altogether an interesting matter that the norms formulated by Hindu platforms for religious reforms had already been put in practice on introduction by Ten Sikh Gurus & practiced by Punjabis in general but SIKHS in particular in regulation for their life in accordance with scriptures in Guru Granth Sahib. But the team of educated Brahmans who always been controlling priesthood activities preferred to give their own ‘TAGS FOR REFORMS’ projecting that list of Discipline to be in accordance with scriptures in Vedas which in reality was not referred when common people were under challenge. The N.G.O.’s of other India attempted to display ignorance to these values originally introduction by Guru Nanak sahib, way back from 1499 & being carried forward during Guru times 1708 & continued to be practiced in Punjab territories.
 History British Company rule in India except Punjab:
British Company rule in India refers to the rule or dominion of the British East India Company on the Indian subcontinent. This is taken to have commenced in 1773, when the Company established a capital in Calcutta, appointed its first Governor-General, Warren Hastings, and became directly involved in governance as a result of the treaty after the Battle of Buxar in 1765, when the Nawab of Bengal was defeated by the Company and was granted the diwani, or the right to collect revenue, in Bengal and Bihar The rule lasted until 1858, when, after the Indian rebellion of 1857 and consequent of the Government of India Act 1858, the British government assumed the task of directly administering India in the new British Raj. The following table for Events is relevant to understand political environment in locations other then Punjab when NGO’s mushroomed to defend Hindu religion referring values in Vedas /Brahmo Samaj /Aryan Samaj after great hammering at the hands of Muslim & then British invaders: Governor-General Period of Tenure Events ;
Warren Hastings
20 October 1773–1 February 1785 Bengal famine of 1770 (1769–1773)
Rohilla War (1773–1774)
First Anglo-Maratha War (1777–1783)
Chalisa famine (1783–84)
Second Anglo-Mysore War (1780–1784)
Charles Cornwallis
12 September 1786–28 October 1793 Cornwallis Code (1793)
Permanent Settlement
Cochin become semi-protected States under British (1791)
Third Anglo-Mysore War (1789–1792)
Doji bara famine (1791–92)
Separation of judicial and revenue administrations
John Shore
28 October 1793–March 1798 East India Company Army reorganized and down-sized.
First Pazhassi Revolt in Malabar (1793–1797)
Jaipur (1794) & Travancore (1795) come under British protection.
Andaman Islands occupied (1796)Company took control of coastal region Ceylon from Dutch (1796).
Richard Wellesley
18 May 1798–30 July 1805 Nizam of Hyderabad becomes first State to sign Subsidiary alliance introduced by Wellesley (1798).
Fourth Anglo-Mysore War (1798–1799)
Second Pazhassi Revolt in Malabar (1800–1805)
Nawab of Oudh cedes Gorakhpur and Rohilkhand divisions; Allahabad, Fatehpur, Cawnpore, Etawah, Mainpuri, Etah districts; part of Mirzapur; and terai of Kumaun (Ceded Provinces, 1801)
Treaty of Bassein signed by Peshwa Baji Rao II accepting Subsidiary Alliance
Battle of Delhi (1803).
Second Anglo-Maratha War (1803–1805)
Remainder of Doab, Delhi and Agra division, parts of Bundelkhand annexed from Maratha Empire (1805).
Ceded and Conquered Provinces established (1805)
Charles Cornwallis (second term) 30 July 1805–5 October 1805 Financial strain in East India Company after costly campaigns.
Cornwallis reappointed to bring peace, but dies in Ghazipur.
George Hilario Barlow (locum tenens)
10 October 1805–31 July 1807 Vellore Mutiny (July 10, 1806)
Lord Minto
31 July 1807–4 October 1813 Invasion of Java – Occupation of Mauritius Marquess of Hastings
4 October 1813–9 January 1823 Anglo-Nepal War of 1814
Annexation of Kumaon, Garhwal, and east Sikkim.
Cis-Sutlej states (1815).
Third Anglo-Maratha War (1817–1818)
States of Rajputana accept British suzerainty (1817).
Singapore was founded (1818).
Dutch accepts British suzerainty (1818).
Gaikwads of Baroda accept British suzerainty (1819).
Central India Agency (1819). Lord Amherst
1 August 1823–13 March 1828 First Anglo–Burmese War (1823–1826)
Annexation of Assam, Manipur, Arakan, and Tenasserim from Burma
William Bentinck
4 July 1828–20 March 1835 Bengal Sati Regulation, 1829
Thuggee and Dacoity Suppression Acts, 1836–1848
Mysore State goes under British administration (1831–1881)
Bahawalpur accepts British Suzerainty (1833)
Coorg annexed (1834).
Lord Auckland
4 March 1836–28 February 1842 North-Western Provinces established (1836)
Post Offices were established (1837)
Agra famine of 1837–38
Aden is captured by Company (1839)[9]

First Anglo-Afghan War (1839–1842)
Massacre of Elphinstone’s army (1842).

The Invasion by N.G.O.’s of other India on Punjab cultural territories during post Maharaja Ranjit Singh/British period: