British controls on India 1750 -1900

After Robert Clive’s victory in the Battle of Plassey in 1757, the puppet government of a new Nawab of Bengal was maintained by the East India Company. British encountered successfully Rohilla War in1773–1774 ,First Anglo-Maratha War in 1777–1783, Second Anglo-Mysore War in1780–1784.However, after the invasion of Bengal by the Nawab of Oudh in 1764 and his subsequent defeat in the Battle of Buxar, the Company obtained the Diwani of Bengal, which included the right to administer and collect land-revenue (land tax) in Bengal, the region of present-day Bangladesh, West Bengal and Bihar In 1772, the Company also obtained the Nizamat of Bengal to the “exercise of criminal jurisdiction” over its natives.

B) Portions of the Kingdom of Mysore were annexed to the Madras Presidency after the Third Anglo-Mysore War which ended in 1792. Next, in 1799, after the defeat of Tipu Sultan, in the Fourth Anglo-Mysore War, most of his territories were annexed to the Madras Presidency. The British Company rule in India effectively began in 1757 after the Battle of Plassey and lasted until 1858, when, following the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the Government of India Act 1858 led to the British Crown assuming direct control of India, the Era known as British Raj. North-West Frontier Province was created in 1901 from the north-western districts of Punjab Province. British obtained control for all Indian territories except for the areas ruled by the SIKHS. Maharaja Ranjit Singh died in 1939 and the areas annexed from 1846 on wards despite unparalleled Heroic display for bravery by SIKH Army but lost due to treachery by inside people of the Palace .The First Anglo-Sikh War took place in 1845–1846 & Sikhs ceded Jullundur Doab, Hazara, and Kashmir to the British under Treaty (1846).The Sale of Kashmir to Gulab Singh of Jammu took place under Treaty of Amritsar (1846).

C) Eastern Bengal and Assam were created in 1905 upon partition of Bengal, together with the former province of Assam was re-merged with Bengal in 1912, with north-eastern part re-established as the province of Assam. Bihar was separated from Bengal in 1912 & renamed Bihar in 1936 when Orissa became a separate province. Delhi was separated from Punjab in 1912, when it became the capital of British India. Sind was separated from Bombay in 1936.At the turn of the 19th to 20th century; British India consisted of eight provinces that were administered either by a Governor or a Lieutenant-Governor. During the partition of Bengal in 1905–1912.